Pulitzers decline to honor Fiction this year

In a surprising decision, for the sixth time ever and the first time since 1977, the Pulitzer Prize committee has declined to award any of the entries in this year’s fiction category.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, the other prizes were awarded as usual. Poetry was taken by Tracy Smith’s Life on Mars, History by Manning Marble’s Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention, Biography by John Lewis Gaddis’ George F. Kennan: An American Life, and general Nonfiction by Stephen Greenblatt’s The Swerve: How the World Became Modern. But the three nominees in Fiction, Swamplandia! by Karen Russell, Train Dreams by Denis Johnson and The Pale King by David Foster Wallace all walked home without prizes.

What happened?

Unfortunately, the board of the Pulitzer committee didn’t offer any reasons for why they declined to award the prize this year. The jury who picked the three finalists, NPR’s Maureen Corrigan, former-editor at the Times Picayune Susan Larson and The Hours author Michael Cunningham are, as the jurys always are, left out of the final decision.

Read more about the Pulitzers at their website.